Smokey's Security Weblog

veritas odium parit

Brief Review MBAM – Malwarebytes’ Anti-Malware

On regular base I test anti-malware programs, most recent test concerned MBAM – Malwarebytes’ Anti-Malware. About the detection capabilities I can be short: great, as claimed by the developers, many times it discovered malware like rootkits, worms, trojans, viruses, spyware and other malicious programs that weren’t detected by other anti-malware programs like anti-viruses and anti-trojans. I am even more enthousiastic about the cleaning capabilities of MBAM, all discovered malware was cleaned/removed 100%, without leaving any traces.

MBAM offer support for Windows 2000, XP, and Vista, and is free. However, the full (paid) version unlocks realtime protection, scheduled updating and scheduled scanning. If you like the program, I advice to opt for the full version. Price: a one time fee of $24.95.

Remark: MBAM was also able to detect the recent XP Antivirus 2008/2009 malware programs and removed this crap entirely.

More info about MBAM (free version and how-to buy): malwarebytes.org
Recommended review MBAM: Web Worker Daily

Update 2009-06-03: recent, extended Softpedia Review MBAM – Malwarebytes’ Anti-Malware: https://smokeys.wordpress.com/2009/06/02/profound-malwarebytes-mbam-anti-malware-scanner-review/

August 23, 2008 - Posted by | Advisories, Bundleware, Downloads, Friends, Malware, Recommended External Security Related Links | , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

13 Comments »

  1. This works for current malware mostly, The more benign malware I might suggest A-squared, and through analysis. but just a thought I would share.
    PS antivirus 2007-20009 requires an AV through scan after malware bytes detects it.

    Comment by deigratia | September 27, 2008 | Reply

  2. Hi Deigratia,

    MBAM is indeed very effective with current malware.
    However, you must see the program as part of layered defense. I am sure you will agree that an Antivirus is indispensable part of that defense also, MBAM and an AV will supplement eachother perfectly. Where the AV fail with malware detection and removal, MBAM Realtime will take care for it. A HIPS and Firewall must be part of the defense also.

    A-squared: is a good program, but have a major disadvantage: very resource hungry. It can bring down your system to the knees. MBAM is very resource friendly. So, i prefer MBAM. If you don’t like MBAM, a fine replacement for A-squared will be SuperAntiSpyware.

    XP Antivirus 2008/2009: in my tests, MBAM removed all traces. A scan with F-Secure and Avira AV didn’t found any remainder of XP-AV-xxxx.

    Comment by Smokey | September 27, 2008 | Reply

  3. Am not able to get rid of “trojan.downloader” (generic term I think) using Malewarebytes’ free anti-maleware v1.30. Repeated scans & deletes always yields 1 more catch of same(?) virus. Scan-delete-repeat, pops up again in different location.

    Comment by steve | November 26, 2008 | Reply

  4. Hi Steve,

    MBAM is a great program, however it will not be able to provide a “100 % total satisfying” solution to avoid and remove nasties. No security program will be able to do such.

    Please register on my board Smokey’s Security Forums – http://www.smokey-services.eu/forums , after registering provide my HJT/OTListIt2 Log Analysing Team with a HJT or OTListIt2 log Log here – http://www.smokey-services.eu/forums/index.php/board,5.0.html

    Instructions how to generate a HJT and/or OTListIt2 Log are provided in the same malware cleaning forum.

    Comment by Smokey | November 28, 2008 | Reply

  5. Thanks for the review. I’ve been pulling my hair out trying to remove SmitFraud and Virtumonde all day. The Malwarebytes program seems to have done the job.

    Comment by Paul | December 13, 2008 | Reply

  6. @Paul

    Glad you like MBAM. BTW, nice travel pictures on your site 🙂

    Comment by Smokey | December 13, 2008 | Reply

  7. MBAM is extremely effective against a wide variety of malware and also against trojans. I use it as an in-store tech all day, have it on all my flash drives and has impressed all my co-workers. My only gripe is the lack of off-line updates. Most of the severely infected computers we receive tend to have programs blocking most internet traffic so updating becomes a problem.

    Comment by r0 | December 22, 2008 | Reply

  8. Hi r0,

    you have a valid argument. I will inform Malwarebytes Corporation about your considerations.

    Comment by Smokey | December 22, 2008 | Reply

  9. […] of the program by MBAM – Malwarebytes’ Anti-Malware, an excellent anti-malware application, reviewed by me some time ago. Here a MBAM detection report about Cashier Myricks malware: […]

    Pingback by Intelinet Internet Security now provided with the Malware label « Smokey’s Security Weblog | December 31, 2008 | Reply

  10. Every time I tried to update windows the page would take me too Google. I read about Malwarebytes and ran the program and BAM my problem was gone. It works much better than Spy bot

    Comment by MW | January 16, 2009 | Reply

  11. I’ve abandoned all of the other anti-spyware products in favor of MBAM. It’s the only one I trust to do both a complete detection and removal. I back it up with Avast Pro. and my clients have been more than satisfied with the results.

    Comment by bobm | January 19, 2009 | Reply

  12. I don’t usually submit comments but just wanted to say that this software helped me rid my computer of the annoying “Spyware Protect 2009” malware that my other anti-virus software wasn’t able to. Thank you guys who created this software…I really appreciate it.

    Comment by Sam | January 26, 2009 | Reply

  13. havnt found any malware that this program couldnt get rid of absolutely the best

    Comment by richard morris | November 19, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

